Music Review

[Kpop song review] Chance of Love + Love Line – TVXQ

THE KING IS BACK! I mean, DBSK is back!!!! So they’re finally have their long-awaited comeback with “New Chapter”, their 9th album, and I have to say that they’re definitely still the king of Kpop. I will review on these 2 songs first, because they’re promoting both songs on music shows. I might have a full review on the album later on~

First thing first, I’m never disappointed with SM’s songs quality, especially when it comes to DBSK. Both songs are really well-produced, and of course DBSK performs both songs really well.

Love Line

The song puts a smile on my face since the very beginning. The song is a refreshing, lighthearted start to the album, and I’m so hooked on the upbeat instrumental that goes from the very beginning to the end of the song. I really like how YunHo and Changmin sing the song in a soothing voice, with a pretty high key; somehow I feel like they’re whispering to their fans. I think this is a perfect start song to set the mood for this album, it’s something new and refreshing, just like the name “New Chapter”.

If you haven’t watched their live stage of “Love Line” yet, this is a good time to do so! The dance moves are so cute (yes I know they’re both 30-something oppa but still…), but delicated at the same time (especially the ooh hooo hooo part with the body wave), the high quality of the stage really claims “DBSK level”. I really love how they both smile and seems so relaxed throughout the whole performance. As an old time Kpop lover, this song and their performance somehow brings me so many good memories.

Check out their live stage here.

 

The Chance of Love. 

The title track and main comeback song of this album, and I do have to say that I LOVE IT SINCE THE VERY FIRST LISTEN. The song is catchy from the very beginning with the hook “ooooooohhhh”, which soon becomes stuck in my head and draws me to the song. I specifically like the bridge a lot, the change in tempo and beats catch my attention and makes me anticipate the chorus more. The song goes with the same structure for the second verse, then it changes again on the second bridge – which I really enjoy. Besides being a catchy pop song with a retro feel that can definitely stuck in listeners’ head, the song is also really well-produced, everything is just enough and it suits Yunho and Changmin’s vocal tone really well (which I’m not surprised, it’s SM and it’s DBSK)

The live stage is AWESOME! Their dance moves are both cute and attractive! And Yunho makes me cringe really hard with his excessive moves but at the same time I smile a lot watching him, because he hasn’t changed at all ever since the first time I saw him on TV 10 years ago. Changmin is classy, and he controls his moves and his facial expressions well.

Check out their live stage here.

 

Leave a comment